Navigation | Page content | Additional information

Page content

Award-winning services for sustainable tourism

Representative, Mission Hill Resorts, China
George Stone Editor in Chief WLA

World Legacy Awards

In 2017 ITB Berlin will once again be the host for the World Legacy Awards, an initiative of the National Geographic Society.

The World Legacy Awards recognize leading tourism companies, organizations and destinations - from airlines to eco-lodges, from countries to communities - which promote a worldwide rethinking of the travel industry according to sustainable principles and practices.

All applications are judged by a jury of experts. The jury chairman is Costas Christ, Editor at Large of National Geographic Traveler and one of the world’s most well-known experts for sustainable tourism.

Out of all applications the jury selected for 2017 15 finalists of the 3rd National Geographic World Legacy Awards. At ITB Friday, March 10, 2017, the World Legacy Award Ceremony will take place in the Palais am Funkturm, the new official Awards Venue of ITB Berlin.

In addition to the worldwide recognition offered by the ITB Berlin stage, prize winners and finalists will also be showcased to a global audience in the National Geographic Traveler magazine and other media. Each month the National Geographic Society reaches over 500 million people worldwide via magazines, books, documentary films and much more!

Please find more details –also before long regarding the new call for bids- at:

Logo World Legacy Awards at ITB Berlin

National Geographic announces World Legacy Awards Finalists of 2017

Out of 150 World Legacy Awards entries, representing 51 countries and six continents 15 Finalists in five award categories were selected. Details on all finalists can be found at

Contact for the World Legacy Awards:

Rika Jean-Francois
Messe Berlin GmbH
Messedamm 22
14055 Berlin
Telephone: +49 30 / 3038-2157

The awards are given in 5 categories:

Recognizing cutting-edge leadership in environmentally friendly business practices and green technology, from renewable energy and water conservation to zero-waste systems and carbon-emission reduction.

Recognizing excellence in enhancing sense of place and authenticity, including support for the protection of historical monuments, archaeological sites, cultural events, indigenous heritage and artistic traditions.

Recognizing outstanding support for the preservation of nature, restoring natural habitat and protecting rare and endangered species, whether on land or in the oceans.

Recognizing direct and tangible economic and social benefits that improve local livelihoods, including training and capacity building, fair wages and benefits, community development, health care and education.

Recognizing destination leadership, including cities, provinces, states, countries and regions that are demonstrating environmental best practices, protection of cultural and natural heritage, benefits to local communities and educating travelers on the principles of sustainability.