Navigation | Page content | Additional information

Page content

Free online course: Social Media in Tourism

Available until 1. April

At a glance

    Social Media expertise focusing on the travel industry
    Students, Start-up Entrepreneurs, Newcomers, Travel professionals, online marketing managers, tourism experts
    No preliminary knowledge needed.
    8 modules, 3 - 5 hours each
    Available until 1 April 2016
    Participation is free of charge.
    Official certificate: 89 EUR (students 49 EUR) plus VAT

Don’t just be a follower – Be an expert!

With its multi-session, free Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) on social media in tourism ITB Academy – together with Tourismuszukunft, the Institute for eTourism will be providing tourism professionals with the latest information and updating their social media knowledge.

Participants learn fundamental information about the Internet and social media and receive an overview of the different platforms and important tips about proper social media conduct. Storytelling, social commerce and potential legal obstacles will also be addressed. The modules are in English and contain interesting lecture videos, informative study documents and inspiring best practice examples.

Your benefits

  • Improve your online marketing skills: Free, up to date knowledge on social media with a focus on the travel industry
  • Study wherever and whenever you have the time: The course can be taken via mobile devices and at any time of the day (until 1 April 2016)
  • Be ahead of your colleagues: Regular updates and inspiring Best Practice Examples on Social Media in tourism industry
  • Get ROI: Learn how to use Social Media efficiently and target-oriented to get your company more attention
  • Bring your professional qualification to the next level: Obtain an official ITB Berlin ELearning certificate (89 EUR, students 49 EUR + VAT)

Online Course Content: Social Media in Tourism

The educational objectives consist of different components of the most relevant social media issues. People who complete the course should be able to understand developments in social media as well as determine how to make the best of them. The modules contain all the information required in order to be able to handle social media capably and professionally.

The course can be taken in the space of time from the 1 October 2015 – 1 April 2016. There are 8 modules, participants should plan to spend three to five hours of study time per module – the length of each individual module varies. Throughout the duration of the MOOC, participants can successfully complete each module at their own pace.

Participants don’t require any preliminary knowledge, since the modules build upon one another sequentially. Beginners can develop their knowledge from the ground up, whereas advanced learners can refresh their skills and update their knowledge with the latest developments from the world of social media.

In order to receive certification, participants are required to pass progress tests after each module as well as a final examination.


Jessica Varga, Product Manager ITB Berlin


Jessica Varga
ITB MOOC Social Media in Tourism Certificate

Official Certificate for Online Course: Social Media in Tourism

Registration for the course is free; a fee of 89 EUR (students 49 EUR) plus VAT is required for certification.

Technical Advise

OpenCourseWorld currently supports these and newer versions of the following browsers: Chrome 25, MS Internet Explorer 10 and Mozilla Firefox 23. With older browser versions you may have problems with the registration or receive other error messages.

Online Course: Content Summary per Module

  • 1.1: Online – Social – Mobile
  • 1.2: The Customer Journey
  • 1.3: Choosing the right channels
  • 1.4: Web Presence

This module provides an insight into the historical development of the internet referring to the change from a rather static presentation of enterprises into the nowadays very interactive web presence of such. It becomes clear to what extent the traveler of today makes use of social media channels for his/her personal travel experience – the so called Customer Journey. Moreover the importance of a preceding target group analysis will be highlighted.

  • 2.1: Introduction
  • 2.2: Platform Overview
  • 2.3: Social Media Marketing
  • 2.4: Social Media Activities
  • 2.5: Conclusion

The definition of Social Media and the numerous available platforms will be elaborated in this module, as well as the best way to choose the most suitable channel. In addition the Social Media strategy process and Social Media activities are presented. Examples for these activities are: Social Media Monitoring, Social Media Optimization, Social Media Participation, Social Media Creation, and Social Media Ads. Best Practice examples will form a more comprehensive and detailed elaboration in the upcoming modules.

  • 3.1: Blogging
  • 3.2: Microblogs
  • 3.3: Wikis
  • 3.4: Forums
  • 3.5: Consumer Communities
  • 3.6: Video Sharing & Live Streaming
  • 3.7: Photo Sharing
  • 3.8: LBS & Social Gaming

The basic information about Social Media that have been elaborated in the previous module will be illustrated in real life examples. Knowledge communities to share information such as blogs, Wiki’s, forums and communities became essential in the world of Social Media. However not only the different communities such as Twitter will be presented in this module, but also the best way to utilize and connect them with each other to derive a benefit from them. Moreover consumer communities such as airbnb and Couchsurfing, as well as possibilities of content sharing and entertainment, e.g. social gaming, Pinterest and video sharing are additional opportunities to create a conglomerate social media community.

  • 4.1: Global Social Networks
  • 4.2: Facebook Introduction
  • 4.3: Facebook Pages & Postings
  • 4.4: Facebook Insights
  • 4.5: Google+, LinkedIn, Qzone
  • 4.6: Communication & Special Interest

In this module the biggest representatives of the global Social Networks are presented. User numbers of the different networks in different countries are examined in detail, as the usage differs from country to country. What is more is that participants of the ITB MOOC receive an insight into the world’s largest Social Network – Facebook – and receive tips and tricks how to make the best use of this platform. Also Google+, LinkedIn and QZone are worth mentioning in this context, as well as additional messenger services, such as Whatsapp, Facebook Messenger and more.

  • 5.1: Content Marketing
  • 5.2: Stories
  • 5.3: Formats
  • 5.4: Examples

Storytelling as one of the most important and most authentic product presentations will be examined in this module. These stories, where people get the chance to escape everyday life via Social Media, emotionally intertwined with the lifeblood of anticipation. Moreover the participants learn which story should be told in which way and also what formats are the most suitable ones for the digital storytelling in Social Media.

  • 6.1: Definition
  • 6.2: Types and examples
  • 6.3: Advertising
  • 6.4: Best Practice

Social Commerce – where Social Media and e-Commerce meet. Social Commerce can upgrade the online shopping experience through the use of Social Media, which is an indispensable current change. The numerous ways of the so-called “Social Shopping Portals”, as e.g. Microshops in Social Networks, Social Graph technologies, Group Buying, Co-Browsing, Group Gifting, are diverse and enable the customer to get involved in an easy and interactive digital shopping experience. What is more is that these platforms can be used for the advertising of products as well. The participants of this module receive a deeper insight into this undertaking in form of Best Practice examples from well-known companies.

  • 7.1: Introduction
  • 7.2: Platform Overview
  • 7.3: Reacting appropriately
  • 7.4: Generating Reviews
  • 7.5: Recommended actions

This module deals with review platforms which nowadays are just as important as personal recommendations and mouth-to-mouth propaganda. The participants learn how to deal with negative reviews or even the so-called “shitstorms” and understand which factors play an important role and have to be taken into consideration when dealing with review platforms. Recommendations are formulated to receive a guiding directions how online reviews and review platforms can made use of in an effective way.

  • 8.1: Introduction
  • 8.2: Marketing Constraints
  • 8.3: Liability for Content
  • 8.4: Data Protection
  • 8.5: Guidelines

Whoever makes use of Social Media in any way has to be aware of the legal regulations regarding the Social Media Law. This module focuses on this very important aspect and provides detailed information about e.g. international and national laws, Terms & Conditions, Trademarks, privacy policies, but also how to deal with fans and likes on e.g. Facebook.

Our Partners + Sponsors

Navigation | Seiteninhalt | Zusätzliche Informationen

Seiteninhalt

Kostenfreier Onlinekurs: Social Media im Tourismus

Bis zum 1. April verfügbar!

Auf einen Blick

  • THEMA
    Social Media KnowHow für die Reisebranche
  • ZIELGRUPPE
    Studenten, Newcomer, Start up Unternehmer, Travel Professionals, Online-Marketing Managers, Tourismusverantwortliche
    Keine Vorkenntnisse nötig!
  • UMFANG
    8 Module à 3-5 Stunden
  • KURSDAUER
    Kurslaufzeit bis 1. April 2016
  • KURSSPRACHE
    Englisch
  • PREIS
    Die Kursteilnahme ist kostenfrei
    Offizielles Zertifikat möglich für 89€ (bzw. 49€ für Studenten) zzgl. MwSt.

Don’t just be a follower – Be an expert!

In dem mehrteiligen, kostenfreien Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) "Social Media im Tourismus" bringt die ITB Academy in Zusammenarbeit mit Tourismuszukunft, dem Institut für eTourismus, das Social Media Know How von Tourismusverantwortlichen auf den neusten Stand.

Sie erfahren die Grundlagen von Social Media, erhalten einen Überblick zu verschiedenen Plattformen und Hinweise zum richtigen Verhalten mit Social Media. Auch Storytelling, Social Commerce und rechtliche Stolpersteine in den sozialen Medien stehen auf der Kursagenda. Der Onlinekurs "Social Media im Tourismus" wird auf Englisch gehalten und beinhaltet interessante Lecture-Videos sowie lehrreiche Dokumente zum Selbststudium.

Ihre Vorteile

  • Mehr Online-Marketing Wissen: Kostenfreier Kurs zu Social Media mit Fokus auf die Reisebranche
  • Flexibles Lernen: Überall und zu jeder Zeit auf PC, Tablet oder Smartphone im individuellem Lerntempo (bis zum 1. April 2016)
  • Wissensvorsprung: Regelmäßige Updates und Best Practice Beispiele zu Social
    Media in der Tourismusindustrie
  • Höheres ROI: Lernen Sie mehr über zielgerichtete Nutzung von Social Media, um Ihr Unternehmen und Ihre Produkte in den Vordergrund zu rücken
  • Berufliche Qualifikation: Erhalten Sie nach Abschluss ein offizielles ITB Berlin
    Zertifikat für 89 EUR, Studenten 49 EUR + MwSt.

Aufbau vom Onlinekurs: Social Media in Tourism

Die Lernziele setzen sich aus verschiedenen Bestandteilen der relevantesten Social Media-Aspekte zusammen. Absolventen des Kurses erhalten die wichtigsten Tipps, um mit den sozialen Medien kompetent umzugehen.

Der Kurs kann im Zeitraum vom 01. Oktober 2015 – 01. April 2016 absolviert werden. Der Kurs besteht aus 8 Modulen, je nach Länge des Moduls sollten drei bis fünf Stunden Lernzeit veranschlagt werden. Den Teilnehmern steht es frei, die einzelnen Module in ihrem individuellen Lerntempo bis zum Ende der Kurslaufzeit zu bearbeiten.

Die Teilnehmer benötigen, bei Beachtung der Reihenfolge der Module, keinerlei Vorwissen, da die Module inhaltlich aufeinander aufbauen. So können Einsteiger ihr Wissen von Grund auf entwickeln und Fortgeschrittene ihre Kenntnisse auffrischen sowie um neuste Entwicklungen der Social Media Welt erweitern.

Teilnehmer, die eine Zertifizierung anstreben, müssen neben den Zwischentests nach jedem Modul auch einen Abschlusstest erfolgreich absolvieren.

Kontakt

Jessica Varga, Product Manager ITB Berlin
E-Mail: itb-mooc@messe-berlin.de

Jessica Varga
ITB MOOC Zertifikatvorschau

Offizielle Zertifizierung für den Onlinekurs "Social Media in Tourism"

Die Teilnahme am Kurs und die Lerninhalte sind kostenfrei. Nur für die offizielle Zertifizierung wird eine Gebühr von 89 EUR (reduziert für Studenten 49 EUR, zzgl. Mehrwertsteuer) erhoben.

Technischer Hinweis

Bitte beachten Sie vor Buchung dieses Kurses die Aktualität Ihres Browsers sicherzustellen (mindestens Chrome 25, MS Internet Explorer 10, Mozilla Firefox 23 oder Safari 8). Bei Verwendung von älteren Versionen können unter Umständen Fehler in Darstellung und Funktion auftreten.

Onlinekurs: Übersicht der Inhalte pro Modul

Von der Website zur Webpräsenz

  • 1.1 Online – Social – Mobile
  • 1.2: The Customer Journey
  • 1.3: Choosing the right channels
  • 1.4: Web Presence

In diesem Modul wird kurz die historische Entwicklung des Internets umrissen, um den Wandel der statischen Präsentation von Unternehmen zur interaktiven Webpräsenz darzustellen. Es wird erdeutlicht, inwiefern Gäste in der heutigen Zeit die sozialen Kanäle für Ihr Reiseerlebnis - dem Customer Journey - nutzen. Weiterhin wird klar, dass zur Auswahl der richtigen Social Media erst eine
Zielgruppenanalyse stattfinden muss.

Grundlagen des Social Webs

  • 2.1: Introduction
  • 2.2: Platform Overview
  • 2.3: Social Media Marketing
  • 2.4: Social Media Activities
  • 2.5: Conclusion

Dieses Modul erklärt den Kursteilnehmern die Grundlagen des Social Webs und der einzelnen Plattformen und hilft so bei der Wahl des zu bespielenden Kanals. Darüber hinaus wird der Social Media Strategieprozess beleuchtet, sowie die Social Media Aktivitäten: Social Media Monitoring, Social Media Optimization, Social Media Participation, Social Media Creation, und Social Media Ads. Darauf aufbauend werden in den folgenden Modulen Best Practice Beispiele vorgestellt.

  • 3.1: Blogging
  • 3.2: Microblogs
  • 3.3: Wikis
  • 3.4: Forums
  • 3.5: Consumer Communities
  • 3.6: Video Sharing & Live Streaming
  • 3.7: Photo Sharing
  • 3.8: LBS & Social Gaming

Die Grundlagen von Social Media werden in diesem Modul an praktischen Beispielen aufgezeigt. Wissensplattformen zum Austausch von Informationen wie z.B. Blogs, Wiki’s, Forums und Communities sind in der Welt des Social Media unabdingbar geworden. Jedoch lernen die Teilnehmer in diesem Modul nicht nur die verschiedenen Communities wie Twitter kennen, sondern erfahren auch wie diese optimal genutzt und verknüpft werden können. Darüber hinaus werden Consumer Communities wie airbnb und Couchsurfing, sowie Content- und Entertainment Möglichkeiten veranschaulicht. Social Gaming, Pinterest und Video Sharing sind nur einige Beispiele die in diesem Modul umrissen werden.

  • 4.1: Global Social Networks
  • 4.2: Facebook Introduction
  • 4.3: Facebook Pages & Postings
  • 4.4: Facebook Insights
  • 4.5: Google+, LinkedIn, Qzone
  • 4.6: Communication & Special Interest

In diesem Modul werden die großen Vertreter der globalen Social Networks vorgestellt. Die Nutzungszahlen der verschiedenen Netzwerke werden in verschiedenen Ländern unter die Lupe genommen. Im Weiteren erhalten die Teilnehmer in diesem Modul Einblicke in das größte Soziale Netzwerk der Welt, Facebook, und erhalten zusätzliche Tipps, wie diese Plattform ideal angewendet werden kann. Auch Google+, LinkedIn, und QZone und weitere Messenger Services werden vorgestellt.

  • 5.1: Content Marketing
  • 5.2: Stories
  • 5.3: Formats
  • 5.4: Examples

Storytelling ist eines der wichtigsten und authentischsten Produktpräsentationen – wenn sie richtig angegangen werden. In diesem Modul geht es um eben diese „Erzählungen“, um Menschen via Social Media ein Entkommen aus dem täglichen Leben zu ermöglichen. Außerdem wird den Teilnehmern verdeutlicht welche Geschichten in welcher Form erzählt werden sollten und welche Formate sich am besten für das digitale Storytelling im Social Media eignen.

  • 6.1: Definition
  • 6.2: Types and examples
  • 6.3: Advertising
  • 6.4: Best Practice

Social Commerce - wo Social Media und E-Commerce aufeinander treffen. Digitaler Handel, der das Online Shopping Erlebnis durch Social Media aufwertet, ist der unentbehrliche Wandel der Zeit. Die verschiedenen Wege der sogenannten „Social Shopping Portals“, wie z.B. Microshops in sozialen Netzwerken, Social Graph Technologien, Group Buying, Co-Browsing, Group Gifting, sind vielfältig und ermöglichen den Kunden ein vereinfachtes und interaktives digitales Shopping Erlebnis. Auch können diese Plattformen zum Bewerben von Produkten verwendet werden. An Best Practice Beispielen wird den Teilnehmern des Moduls die Umsetzung dieses Trends veranschaulicht.

  • 7.1: Introduction
  • 7.2: Platform Overview
  • 7.3: Reacting appropriately
  • 7.4: Generating Reviews
  • 7.5: Recommended actions

Dieses Modul beschäftigt sich mit Bewertungsplatformen, die heutzutage eine ebenso wichtige Rolle spielen wie persönliche Empfehlungen und Mundpropaganda. Die Teilnehmer erfahren wie mit negativen Bewertungen oder sogar sogenannten „Shitstorms“ umgegangen werden sollte und welche Faktoren hier zu beachten sind. Außerdem werden den Teilnehmer hilfreiche Empfehlungen ausgesprochen, wie online Bewertungen und Bewertungsplattformen effektiv genutzt werden können.

  • 8.1: Introduction
  • 8.2: Marketing Constraints
  • 8.3: LiabilityforContent
  • 8.4: Data Protection
  • 8.5: Guidelines

Wer die sozialen Medien für sich und sein Produkt verwendet, muss auch auf die gesetzlichen Bedingungen schauen, um keine Rechte zu verletzen. In diesem Modul wird daher auf diesen wichtigen Aspekt geschaut, wie z.B. internationale und nationale Gesetze, allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen, Trademarks, Datenschutzgesetze und auch der Umgang mit Fans und Like auf z.B. Facebook wird thematisiert.

Unsere Partner